Music

December 4, 2015 § 1 Comment

A note heard can transform a day from the mundane into the awesome. Right now, on my iPhone, I have, in no particular order, a mixed selection of :

Pachobel’s Canon: both inspirational and soothing. I play it while shaving as I watch the razor glide smoothly over my face

JS Bach: a melody that takes you to heaven and back and then to heaven again

Maroon 5: their punchy classic, “Moves Like Jagger”, try n play that without busting a move!

David Guetta: time for some fresh French flair

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: every last syllable of his name resounds with genius.

The Art of McCartney: The best and most loved Beatle commemorated by a bunch of ind. ledges singing his tunes. Love-love-me do. Oh yeah.

Coldplay: edgy, melancholic, disturbing, soaring

Of course in these festive months I’ll also be tuned to the festive ditties. In spite of our ever-grinding world of cupidity and egoism, there are seasons where you’ll find even hedge funders turning warm. In days of winter my greatest comfort is resting beside the fireplace until I achieve somewhere in the region of 50 degrees C, supping on a Fortnum’s Gluhwein, listening to soothing winter music. Amongst my favourites are:

Michael Bublé : his version of Silent Night– sans doute, the greatest Christmas song they ever made.

Pavarotti: Ave Maria, I listen to this while driving home, try and hit the high note, you’ll tear open your larynx

King’s Choir, Cambridge’s carols. Ding-dong-merrily on high, ah those halcyon schooldays, toasting toes and marshmallows!

Chris Rea: Driving home for Christmas, try listening to this while driving, you’ll burst open your eardrums

Music, it’s what makes us human beings and joins us. I truly believe in its healing powers. In these days of trouble we need it more than ever.

So play on, let me have surfeit.

 

 

 

§ One Response to Music

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Music at Secret Banker.

meta

